For Shame!

This post is for those of us who seem to disengage our brains, lose all semblance of common sense and toss good judgment out the window and go on rants that rival a two year old who needs a nap. To them I say “You should be ashamed of yourself.”

I will never understand the personality that goes about through life screaming and threatening and generally making a fool out of themselves for no other reason than because they feel they can. They stomp, stutter, spit and flail about in a most unbecoming way.

They should be embarrassed by their behavior.

Now I love a good rant as much as the next ape-shit crazy nut does. I love to go on and on about how this injustice or that miscarriage has affected me or some other poor bastard. It honestly makes me feel good to get it off my chest.

So how am I different than those I criticize now?

Simple. I don’t direct my anger at the wrong person. I know how things work in a professional setting. I don’t kill the receptionist or shoot the messenger. I know to whom to direct my frustration. I think before I open my mouth. And when I do open my mouth, I speak softly. You know, quietly, big stick? Yeah, that’s how I roll.

Also, I think before I react. I’ve evolved a little further than the totally reactionary being that can’t do a quick assessment of the whole ‘action/reaction’ scenario. I realize that allowing my temper to flare is only making enemies of people I have no business making enemies of. And I not only know my limitations, but also the limitations of the person I’m dealing with. It’s like yelling at the weatherman for the lousy weather. It serves no purpose other than to make you an ass.

And what an ass you make.

So to my temperamental – emphasis on mental – little friends, I offer a bit of advice. Think before you react. Rise out of the primordial ooze and embrace the strides humankind has made in the arena of logical thought processing.

And the next time you decide to rip me a new one…watch out for my stick.

Leave a Reply

