Layers…

As I scrubbed myself shiny in the shower, I was reminded of Shrek telling Donkey that Ogres are like onions…they have layers. I had a lot of layers on me and I think life is a little like that too.

I was covered in stink, sweat, sunscreen, potting soil, swimming pool water, pond water, dog hair, BBQ sauce, corn on the cob juice, a dash of wine and some sun-brewed mint green iced tea.

Each layer was like an achievement with the end result, the trophy I guess, being a very good day. I worked hard, played hard, and enjoyed a very good meal. In between I enjoyed good conversation, a lot of laughs and some hand holding on the patio.

My busy wonderful day reflects my life in a lot of ways. I’ve worked hard, not afraid to get a little dirty, and sometimes I’ve fallen ass-first into the brown and gooey. I’ve also created wonderful things in my life, three children my crowning achievement, and I’ve nourished them, mind, body and soul with a mix of twisted humor, good food and above all else, the Golden Rule.

I tried to live in harmony with others, not being critical or judgmental of those not deserving of it and I’ve tried to understand the counter-point to my point. I’ve taught my children that and I hope that my love of the innocents in life has rubbed off on them.

I’ve done it my way, not following really in any one particular path, doing what I thought best for everyone involved. Oh, I’ve made my fair share of stupid mistakes, guided by my own selfishness and vanity. I’ve done some doosies, but I hope that for the most part I’ve made amends for them.

While I managed to wash off most of the layers I’ve accumulated on this busy day, I know that my life layers will stay with me until I take my last breath. It’s those layers that make me and I’m thankful for them all.

 

One response to “Layers…

Leave a Reply

