Write on Edge Writing Prompt – Victor/Victoria

My palms were sweaty and my heart raced. I’d done this a million times but somehow, this seemed different. I felt like a pussy, a flat-out pussy, for not strolling over and asking for her number. What kept me from doing it; I dunno. I just couldn’t coordinate the maneuver.

Or maybe it was all in my thick head.

I’d known her since grade school when I pulled her pigtails and slung snowballs at her. Sure, I liked her then and in true guy manner, I showed her as much contempt as I could. Just to keep her guessing. And guessing she did. She guessed that I was a jackass and I suppose she guessed right.

But tonight I wanted to prove her wrong.

I tried to steel my unsteady nerves with a long pull of my beer. It didn’t work. I tried reassuring myself that I was handsome, that she was lucky I was even giving her a second chance after she blew me off for the high school prom. Truth was, I would have bargained with the devil herself if I thought it would give me half a chance with her.

I put my beer down, straightened the front of my t-shirt and began the long walk to where she sat at the other end of the bar. Friends stopped me three times before I even got within earshot of her. Once or twice I swore she looked my way, a faint smile washing across her full lips, eyelashes fluttering in time with the butterflies in my stomach.

Finally I reached her. I needed a smooth opening line or it would be game over. I grabbed the back of her stool, spun her around…

“What took you so long?” She replied, sly grin fixed square on her face.

9 responses to “Write on Edge Writing Prompt – Victor/Victoria

  1. Nice! Having had many conversations with males about subjects such as this for my job, I have to say you did a great job of showing his uncertainty while not letting it bleed over into his actions. Greag job!

  2. Lovely read! What a great character! and a fantastic end!

    “And guessing she did. She guessed that I was a jackass.” – Loved this line

    “I just couldn’t coordinate the maneuver.” – Loved this line too!

    “I tried reassuring myself that I was handsome, that she was lucky I was even giving her a second chance after she blew me off for the high school prom.” This was excellent… I like to think of men as needing this kind of reassuring speech to themselves!

    The one line that didn’t ring true to me: “in true guy manner, I showed her as much contempt as I could.” The men I know are no where near that self-aware!

  3. Ugh leave it to men! Haha- great job capturing the inner dialog of the game of love. Why does it have to be so difficult? But it is!

  4. “She guessed that I was a jackass and I suppose she guessed right.”

    That made me laugh out loud, that was my favorite line, although I wonder if he would really be that self-aware?

Leave a Reply

