Red Writing Hood Prompt – Clue

I love books so it was no wonder I found myself in my father’s library searching for answers to questions I did not know. I was pondering the big things…life, love, destiny…and the stakes were huge. I had big choices to make and no idea where to begin.

I flopped into the overstuffed chair and stared hard into the cold fireplace, blurring the edges of a large brass candlestick standing in the hearth. No answers there.

Some things are just unknown.

My gaze travelled to the racks. Book upon book my father collected over a lifetime. My eyes focused on one book in particular. I knew it was old, but its spine was shiny new, scarlet red, begging for me to examine it.

I drug myself across the room to where the book rested. There was no title, no author on the smooth leather spine to reveal its contents. It intrigued me. Just like my father…a subtle mystery waiting to be solved.

My hands shook as they reached for the volume, afraid to touch, afraid to learn its secrets and I turned the book over several times before committing a look inside. With courage I did not feel, I opened the cover and slowly ran my fingers down the first page, the only page containing words. Written in the neat, boxy script I knew as my father’s was a simple sentence, addressed to me:

Denise…follow your heart.

And I have, to my great folly, since that very day.

13 responses to “Red Writing Hood Prompt – Clue

  1. As someone who has looked for answers in books most of her life, I like the idea that one day one might have a more simple message for me 🙂

    My only piece of concrit would be in the description of the book. How does she know “it was old” if it looks new? Just a small detail, but it stood out to me.

  2. Very cool! I love the idea of finding a message in a book. The tricky but for me was how the passage begins with a very present narration – “I flopped into the chair” – up to the discovery of the book, but then changes into a past-perspective narration at the end “And I have, to my great folly, since that very day.”

    Not sure if it was intentional, but it did catch my eye!

  3. Nicely done. I think the phrasing could use some tightening, but the structure and tale is sound. The opening line bothered me: “I love books so it was no wonder I found myself in my father’s library searching for answers to questions I did not know.” I’m not sure about “I did not know.” because its placement isn’t specific. One doesn’t search for answers they already know, so it isn’t necessary here. If it’s answers to questions you weren’t sure you had, the structure of this sentence weakens that thought. I think you could have a stronger opening line if it’s dropped altogether. “I love books so it was no wonder I found myself in my father’s library searching for answers.”

    Just a thought.

    Again the story is sound, and that last line does speak volumes. Great job!

    • I always value you input and I agree with your concerns. This piece came from raw emotion and in the heat of that, grammar went out the window. I would definitely hand this over to a friend for editing. Thank you again for putting in the time to comment. I really do find it constructive.

Leave a Reply

