Red Writing Hood Prompt – New

Times New Roman…12 pt font…double space…indent first line a half inch.

Those simple settings represent a new slate for me. A new beginning. A new story. It’s been my routine, my superstitious ritual, for years. The only thing occurring before the setup is the tiny spark of a storyline.

There’s something so comforting, yet so very unsettling, about starting a new story. Characters, scenery, plots and emotions swirl through my head almost too fast to commit to computer memory. Mad dashes to the old desktop at 2:00 a.m. become routine as a new story unfolds. Lives develop within the parameters of font and formatting like a flower opening at dawn. Awe-inspiring and dizzying in it’s perfect complexity. I marvel as the story flows and weaves and tells me more about myself than I ever knew. All the good and all the bad inside me play out through words and I’m liberated, absolved from the responsibility of being me. All that I want and want to destroy, all that I love and hate, all that I cannot make happen in my own life is easily accomplished with a simple keystroke.

And it starts with a new page and an established routine. Times New Roman…12 pt font…double space…indent first line a half inch.

How incredibly liberating to be a writer. How incredibly lucky I am to have people and places dance in my head with reckless abandon. How pure and simple and intoxicating to have the exact endings I want for my characters. No relying on luck or karma or a third person for intercession. With new pages I make my own luck. I am Karma. And that third person?

They are perfectly in sync with me. I love new. It always goes my way.

6 responses to “Red Writing Hood Prompt – New

  1. I loved the raw honesty of this, in particular: All that I want and want to destroy, all that I love and hate, all that I cannot make happen in my own life is easily accomplished with a simple keystroke.

  2. This made me nostalgic. I often miss the days when *I* would decide the font, the indent, etc.
    Now, when I use MS Word, it’s “what style?” I select “manuscript” and begin to type. All else is done for me.

  3. Utterly LOVE this. Especially the last line. And it is liberating. It’s freedom to do anything and go anywhere, all on paper, and honestly, writers are lucky people to accopmlish that. Your piece totally resonated with me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

